2014

To new friends made, old friends remade, and friends we will never see again

This year I have made new friends and have had new colleagues to work with. I would like to make more.

This year I have rekindled friendships that had been faltering. I would like to do this more.

Some of my friends have done wonderful things this year. I am so proud of them all.

This year I have lost a very dear friend. Tonight I am toasting his memory. I hope not to lose any more friends for a very long time.

To our flaws

I have overindulged this year. I have allowed myself to become insular and lazy, even more than I have in the past. I need to do better.

This year I have struggled with depression and anxiety, as I have every year of my life. I have taken steps to make it better, but I still have a long way to go. I owe it to myself and to my friends to keep working at it.

This year I have been too angry and bitter. I have forgotten to love and respect my fellow human beings. I have looked down on people for not knowing what I know. I need to be more humble and respectful.

To our achievements

This year I finished a painful, long-term project at work. We remade our product. It should have been easier, it should have been faster, but now it is done.

Since then, we have continued to build upon that work. Processes that were new and painful a year ago are swift and painless now. There is still a lot of work to be done, but I have confidence that it will be successful. And I know I have a place in that.

I am better at what I do today than I was a year ago.

To our ambitions

This year I want to learn more about my life’s work. I want to become a better programmer. I want to widen my experience and to deepen my familiarity.

I want to get out more, I want to listen more, I want to talk more when I have something to say, I want to be less afraid of my body and my mind and my failings.

I want to be better at what I do a year from now than I am today.

To things best forgotten

This year I cut a tie that should have been cut long since. I feel the absence every day, but I have to accept the absence and then, in time, to forget it.

There are things I could have done better this year. Words I could have said better. Thoughts I could have thought better. The pain belongs to 2013 now, and the lessons belong to the future.

To the future

Here’s to full hearts and full bellies.

Here’s to fewer guns and more butter.

Here’s to more ice and more fish in the oceans.

Here’s to the self-evident truth that all people are born equal, and to the retirement of kings, gods, and tyrants.

Here’s to a healthier, happier, more prosperous new year.