A game idea

I’ve come up with an idea for my Christmas Hack that excites me, and I think it’s attainable. What I’m thinking about is an action-puzzler along the lines of Adventures of Lolo, Chip’s Challenge, and Ittle Dew (although more like the first two than the last). The view is overhead, and the goal is to bypass various obstacles and dangers in order to accomplish a goal.

The gimmick is that the game is be for two (or more?) players who can communicate by voice. They each see their own play arena, and actions they take can influence the other player’s arena. A button pressed by one player may lower a gate for another, for example. In addition, wormhole/portal squares can be used to pass items from one player’s arena to the other. So I see something like this happening:

Player One: All right, there’s two levers over here. I’ll pull the top one.

Player Two: Shit, that opened the doors of the tiger cage! Pull it again!

Player One: OK, done.

Player Two: Damn, now the tiger’s out with me!

Player One: I pulled the other lever!

Player Two: It opened the gate. Pull it again!

Player One: Done!

Player Two: Whew, safe. But we’re going to have to figure out how to get past that tiger — the exit is inside its cage…

Player One: Well, there’s a delicious-looking steak on the other side of this moat… but I can’t get to the other side.

Player Two: Let’s try…

This might end up being completely unworkable:

Player One: FUCK, I DIED AGAIN, YOU IDIOT

Player Two: YOUR WIFE IS A BIG HIPPO

Player One: FRIENDSHIP OVER

but I think it could be balanced in a way that would make it fun, at least for a lark.

If this is what I select, I’d at least want to implement arenas for two characters, several items, the ability to teleport items between arenas, and at least one solvable puzzle by the end of the week.